School of Journalism and Media Studies
San Diego State University, Leadership Starts Here
Skip to content

SDSU Faculty and Students Win Awards at the 2016 IPRRC

March 15, 2016

SDSU Faculty and Students Win Awards at the 2016 IPRRC JMS congratulates the following individuals and groups for their accomplishments at the 2016 International Public Relations Research Conference, held in Miami, FL:

JMS graduate students and Navy Public Affairs Officers CDR Dave Hecht, LCDR Theresa Donnelly, LCDR Michael Larson, and LT Frederick Martin earned the Big Jack Award as the conference’s most outstanding presenters for their research titled “Public Relations as Broadcast Spokespersons: Will They Air?”. The team was taught by Dr. Kaye Sweetser, Dr. David Dozier, and Dr. Hongmei Shen.

Public relations senior, Kalyca Becktel, won the conference’s Red Raider Public Relations Research Award with her solo-authored research paper “Is the Medium the Message in Political Organization Public Relationships?”. Mentored by Dr. Kaye Sweetser, Kalyca competed against graduate students and faculty from around the world.

Dr. Bey-Ling Sha and Dr. Hongmei Shen presented “Community Building With NGO Engagement: Impact on Donor and Volunteer Behaviors” and a second graduate student team of Eric Flanagan, Jeremy McLean, and Rachel Nolan presented their research “A Coorientation Approach to Understanding Shifting Policies in the U.S. Military.”