School of Journalism and Media Studies
San Diego State University, Leadership Starts Here
Skip to content

JMS Students and Alumni Win Press Club Awards

October 28, 2014

The San Diego Press Club honored several journalism students and alumni at the 41st Annual Excellence in Journalism Awards. Journalism senior Mike Heral took first place in college print, feature, for “San Diegans bait hook for seafood market,” written for JMS 550, taught by Dr. Becky Nee. Seniors Leonardo Castaneda and Madison Hopkins took third place in college print, investigative, for “Mixed signals on substance abuse at San Diego State,” written for The Daily Aztec, advised by Professor Jay Harn. Journalism students Quinn Owen, Hannah Beausang, and Luke Henning took first place in college TV, general news story, for “Protesters at the SDSU Conrad Prebys Aztec Student Union Grand Opening,” also written for The Daily Aztec. Journalism alumnus Maurice Luque (class of 1970) received the Andy Mace Award for Public Relations Professional of the Year.